4 steps of digestion

4 steps of digestion


Have you ever known that what is the process of your body that can get advantages from the big food? This paragraph will show you about the digestion that is the process helping you to get the nutrients from the food. There are 4 steps of digestion. There are ingestion, digestion, absorption and elimination.

Firstly, the ingestion is the process that begins within the mouth, the first organ of the digestive tract. Ingestion is an eating. The food has to be in your mouth to call this process. If it does not, the food is still outside on the plate, it will not be called ingestion absolutely.

Secondly, the digestion makes the food from the biggest one to the smallest one. In two kinds, they are physical digestion and chemical digestion. In physical digestion, it uses the force to chew, tear, mash, grind and mix to make the food smaller but not the smallest. This way cannot beat the chemical one for using enzymes with the specific kinds to make the small food to be the smallest one that your body can absorb it. It can be concluded that physical digestion is to make the food small as much as it can but the chemical one will continue to make the smallest. This process is related to the 5 main organs in the digestive tract.

In mouth, there are both physical and chemical digestion here. For the physical one, the teeth are used to chew, tear, mash, grind and mix the food together to make it small to be easy to swallow. However for the chemical one, enzymes in the saliva will digest the starch in the noodles or rices, for just the carbohydrate nutrient, not digest for others.

Next to the mouth, it is esophagus. There is the process called Peristalsis. It is used to move the food called Bolus from the mouth to the stomach by relaxing and contracting muscles for gradual moving, not moving it too much that stomach will not be able to accept.

Next to the esophagus, it is stomach. It looks like J-shaped, it is able to contract so much for receiving a lot of food at the same time. Many enzymes here will break down just only the protein nutrient including the meat, the egg and the milk. The food will be called Chyme instead, it is in the liquid form. Acidity by the HCl or hydrochloric acid will help stomach to kill the bacteria from the food you eat.

Next to the stomach, it is small intestine. There are three parts called Duodenum, Jejunum and Ileum. In each part it works uniquely that is different from the others. The first one, Duodenum, it is the most effective in digestion. Three nutrients, protein, carbohydrate, fat that give you energy will be digested here. The second one, Jejunum is for just the absorption of that three nutrients in the form of amino acids from protein, glucose from carbohydrate and fatty acid from fat and lipid. Amino acids, glucose, fatty acid are the smallest unit that your body can absorb to get the advantages. The last one, Ileum, it is the longest part but does nothing. In some theory, the specialists believe that it is for absorption too but it is not as good as Jejunum.

The last one, it is large intestine. There is nothing special here, it is just used for the absorption of mineral, vitamin and water. These three nutrients that cannot give us energy but they are important too for body regulation. This part gets rid of the waste too called Feces.

Thirdly, it is absorption. According to the small and large intestine functions, the absorption will take place in just two organs there. In the small one, it absorbs amino acids, glucose, and fatty acid. On the other hand, in the large one, it keeps water, mineral  and vitamin.

Finally it is elimination, by the name, it is the process that shows how to take the waste out of your body.

Edited by Kao


About Preeprem

Leave a Reply